Broken by Karin Slaughter

Broken by Karin Slaughter
(Will Trent #4)
Paperback, 464 pages
Published March 1st, 2016 by Dell

Karin Slaughter’s internationally bestselling novels are as notable for their vivid portraits of lives shadowed by loss and heartbreak as they are for their dramatic criminal investigations. Her latest offering features the return of her most compelling characters and introduces memorable new ones in a tale of corruption, murder, and confrontation that will leave more than one life . . .

When Special Agent Will Trent arrives in Grant County, he finds a police department determined to protect its own and far too many unanswered questions about a prisoner’s death. He doesn’t understand why Officer Lena Adams is hiding secrets from him. He doesn’t understand her role in the death of Grant County’s popular police chief. He doesn’t understand why that man’s widow, Dr. Sara Linton, needs him now more than ever to help her crack this case.

While the police force investigates the murder of a young woman pulled from a frigid lake, Trent investigates the police force, putting pressure on Adams just when she’s already about to crack. Caught between two complicated and determined women, trying to understand Linton’s passionate distrust of Adams, the facts surrounding Chief Tolliver’s death, and the complexities of this insular town, Trent will unleash a case filled with explosive secrets—and encounter a thin blue line that could be murderous if crossed.

Spellbinding and keenly paced, Broken is Karin Slaughter at her best. Here is an unforgettable story of raw emotions, dangerous assumptions, the deadly and layered game of betrayal, and a man’s determination to expose the most painful of human truths—no matter how deeply they’re hidden . . . or how devastating.

My thoughts…

Broken is the fourth installment in the Will Trent series and ties in with Grant County series as Dr. Sara Linton returns home for the holidays, the first time since her personal tragedy. It's the first time she's faced all the reminders of her past life and it's a challenge.

When a young college girl is found dead, originally the consensus is suicide, but upon further investigation it is discovered she was murdered. Unfortunately, Sara is almost immediately drawn into an apparent murder investigation that threatens to reunite her with Lena Adams, the woman she holds responsible for her pain. A mentally challenged man is arrested for the crime, and promptly commits suicide in his jail cell. Sara knows instinctively that the cops messed up and this is her opportunity to take Lena down. Sara calls in Will Trent to investigate the death in custody. Together Will and Sara team up to determine exactly what's going on in the police department now that Jeffrey's gone.

Sara and Will are forced to spend time together. There is some spark there, but he is married to the evil witch Angie. They have great chemistry and Sara treats him with respect, unlike Angie. Faith Mitchell (Will’s GBI partner) was more in the background this time around, taking care of her baby.

Never underestimate the power of a shared history.”
― Karin Slaughter, Broken

As usual we have an intense mystery. I was never sure where the story was going or what we were going to discover. The author takes flawed characters that we have known for several books and disliked and makes us care about them. She also takes characters that I had come to like and makes me see them in a different light. Broken was a great way to touch base with other characters from the Grant County series, I highly recommend this book, but I suggest you read the Grant County series before reading this book.

Kisscut (Grant County #2) by Karin Slaughter
Indelible (Grant County #4) by Karin Slaughter
Faithless (Grant County #5) by Karin Slaughter


Post a Comment