Inky Edition of the Sunday Post #5

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.


What I read this past week:




⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
I finally finished this book on audio (18 hrs. 32 mins) and thought it was wonderful. I can understand that some may not like Written in Red. We get to see the many friendships that Meg forms by living and working at the Lakeside Courtyard as Human Liaison. Reading about Meg’s daily activity can be a bit repetitive, but it’s well worth it.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan
⭐⭐⭐⭐
I only teared up twice reading this book, I tend to avoid sad stories. From reading the synopsis Mackenzie twin sister dies and I was prepared to have some sad emotions while reading this book.  What I wasn’t expecting was all the teenage high school drama, I think it was a little too much.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Why did it take me so long to read this book? After I finish my current read, I’m going to move onto book #2, I must find out the conclusion of Cassie and Ethan’s love story.


What I am currently reading: 



This was the Romance Book Club pick for February. I’m not sure if I mentioned this before, but the Romance Book Club is free. You sign up using your email address, and then usually during the first week of the month you will get an email letting you know that the monthly book is available and how to get it. Here is the link, if you’re interested:

Romance Read Club:


Stacking the Shelves #37

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews and co-hosted by Reading Reality. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves; may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in a store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course eBooks. All book links will take you to Goodreads.

Three physical books I added this week: 



The Taster by V.S. Alexander
Amid the turbulence of World War II, a young German woman finds a precarious haven closer to the source of danger than she ever imagined--one that will propel her through the extremes of privilege and terror under Hitler's dictatorship . . .

In early 1943, Magda Ritter's parents send her to relatives in Bavaria, hoping to keep her safe from the Allied bombs strafing Berlin. Young German women are expected to do their duty--working for the Reich or marrying to produce strong, healthy children. After an interview with the civil service, Magda is assigned to the Berghof, Hitler's mountain retreat. Only after weeks of training does she learn her assignment: she will be one of several young women tasting the Fuhrer's food, offering herself in sacrifice to keep him from being poisoned.

Perched high in the Bavarian Alps, the Berghof seems worlds away from the realities of battle. Though terrified at first, Magda gradually becomes used to her dangerous occupation--though she knows better than to voice her misgivings about the war. But her love for a conspirator within the SS, and her growing awareness of the Reich's atrocities, draw Magda into a plot that will test her wits and loyalty in a quest for safety, freedom, and ultimately, vengeance.

Vividly written and ambitious in scope, The Taster examines the harrowing moral dilemmas of war in an emotional story filled with acts of extraordinary courage.
In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.


The Perfect Nanny by Leïla Slimani
When Myriam, a mother and brilliant French-Moroccan lawyer, decides to return to work, she and her husband are forced to look for a caretaker for their two young children. They are thrilled to find Louise: the perfect nanny right from the start. Louise sings to the children, cleans the family's beautiful apartment in Paris's upscale tenth arrondissement, stays late whenever asked, and hosts enviable kiddie parties. But as the couple and the nanny become more dependent on each other, jealousy, resentment, and frustrations mount, shattering the idyllic tableau.


The book I added to Kindle this week:


Friends Without Benefits can be read as a standalone, is a full length 120k word novel, and is book#2 in the Knitting in the City Series.

There are three things you need to know about Elizabeth Finney: 1) She suffers from severe sarcastic syndrome, especially when she's unnerved, 2) No one unnerves her like Nico Manganiello, and 3) She knows how to knit.

Elizabeth Finney is almost always right about everything: the musical merits of boy bands are undervalued by society, “benefits” with human Ken dolls are better without friendship, and the sun has set on her once-in-a-lifetime chance for true love. But when Elizabeth’s plans for benefits without friendship are disarmed by the irritatingly charismatic and chauvinistic Nico Manganiello- her former nemesis- she finds herself struggling to maintain the electric fence around her heart while avoiding electrocution or, worse, falling in love.



Last week on Inky Impressions:




Everyday Life:

After much consideration I decided to part with my beloved Nissan 307Z, which I like to refer to as my mid-life crisis car. It just isn’t very practical for living in Colorado, it basically stays garaged in the Winter. When I do have appointments this time of year I have to work around my husband work schedule to use his vehicle, the Z refuses to go anywhere in the snow and with it being only a two-seater I am unable to travel with my fur babies.

I would like to go back to a smaller SUV type. I previously had an Infiniti FX35 that we gave to my son and it worked well for my needs. My husband and I spent this past week test driving cars and hopefully I can narrow down my decision.

Have you read any of these books? Please let me know what you thought of them. Thank you for visiting and have a wonderful week. 

8 comments:

  1. Written in Red is from one of my refrigerators ever. Glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I looking forward to moving onto book #2. I would like to listen to it on audio, so I'm patiently waiting for it to become available. Have a wonderful day Barb.

      Delete
  2. The Perfect Nanny sounds like a great read! Good luck with the car shopping.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope it's good, I've been seeing mixed reviews about it. Thank you Chrissy, there are so many options in cars nowadays. Have a wonderful day.

      Delete
  3. So many people like The Others -- I have to try this soon. The Lace Reader sounds interesting. Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had never heard of it before until someone mentioned the series on their blog, I was surprised to see how many people do enjoy it. Have a wonderful day Martha.

      Delete
  4. yay you read The Others and liked it! I'm so curious about that one! I don't know why I'm procrastinating reading it LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I procrastinate reading books also, usually it's because I have other books that I want to first. Have a great day Daniela.

      Delete