... a little of this and a little of that.

May 31, 2017

Review: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
Paperback, 336 pages
Published April 5th, 2016 by Random House
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Amazon 

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart. 

My thoughts…

This was such a wonderful book, I enjoyed all the characters and everything about the story.

Tell Me Three Things is about a girl named Jessie whose mother died a couple years ago from cancer and now her father has remarried a woman he meets in a bereavement group. She didn’t know her father was dating and it came as a shock to her that he remarried. Even more so when he sold her childhood home and moved her from Chicago to California to live with her new stepmother and stepbrother.

Jessie is having the worst time of her life trying to adapt to her new private school that her stepmother is paying the tuition for her to attend, also it’s the same school as Theo, her stepbrother, attends. Theo is not happy with the new living arrangements or his mother’s marriage and he doesn’t hide his feelings from Jessie.

One day Jessie receives an email from someone named Somebody Nobody or SN. The guy, SN, is someone who goes to her school but wants to remain anonymous. At first Jessie is freaked out by this anonymous messenger and thinks it is someone trying to make fun of her or prank her. Jessie eventually realizes that she might need help just to survive at her new school. SN gives her advice on who to become friends with and to stay away from and Jessie begins to rely more and more on SN, and as time goes by adjusting to her new school gets easier.

Jessie wanted to know more about SN and finally wanted to meet him in person. She was questioning herself on how is it possible that she liked someone she has never met. Finally, SN agrees to meet Jessie to reveal his identity, at the reveal I had a huge smile and so happy. I had my suspicions early on who SN was and I was so thrilled that SN was who I thought it was. Sorry, no spoilers, you must read this wonderful book to find out.

Tell Me Three Things is sweet and funny, at times sad. It was a perfect Young Adult read. Julie Buxbaum is a new author to me and I will certainly read more of her books in the future.

But sometimes a kiss is not a kiss is not a kiss. Sometimes it's poetry.

Happy Reading -J


SHARE:

May 29, 2017

Review: Tempt The Boss by Natasha Madison

Review: Tempt The Boss by Natasha Madison
Tempt The Boss by Natasha Madison Kindle Edition, 230 pages Published April 1st, 2017 My rating: 2 out of 5 stars Goodreads   A...
SHARE:

May 27, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #10

Stacking the Shelves #10
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews and Reading Reality . It’s all about sharing the books you are adding...
SHARE:

May 26, 2017

Fur Baby Friday

Fur Baby Friday
Our little stinker Avery celebrated his 4 th  Birthday on Monday. Looking back at his crazy hair that he had as a puppy, we should ha...
SHARE:

May 24, 2017

Review: Lady Maybe by Julie Klassen

Review: Lady Maybe by Julie Klassen
Lady Maybe by Julie Klassen Kindle Edition, 400 pages Published July 7th, 2015 by Berkley My rating: 4 out of 5 stars Goodreads ...
SHARE:

May 21, 2017

Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West Kindle Edition, 352 pages Published May 5th, 2015 by HarperCollins Publishers My rating: 3 out ...
SHARE:

May 20, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #9

Stacking the Shelves #9
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews  and Reading Reality . It’s all about sharing the books you are adding ...
SHARE:

May 19, 2017

Fur Baby Friday

Fur Baby Friday
Jake laying around watching his human mom rearranging her books again, something I’m sure all us enjoy doing. I recently purchased new book...
SHARE:

May 17, 2017

Review: The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent

Review: The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent
The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent (The Stars Never Rise Duology #1) Hardcover, 368 pages Published June 9th, 2015 by Delacorte...
SHARE:

May 14, 2017

Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton
Everneath by Brodi Ashton Amy Rubinate (Narrator) (Everneath #1) Audiobook, 370 pages Published January 24th, 2012 by Balzer + ...
SHARE:

May 14, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #8

Stacking the Shelves #8
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews . It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves; ma...
SHARE:

May 12, 2017

Fur Baby Friday

Fur Baby Friday
Human mom is upstairs reading, we must join her and nap. It happens all the time, if I’m reading they nap. Any other time they follow me ...
SHARE:

May 11, 2017

Review: Even When You Lie to Me by Jessica Alcott

Review: Even When You Lie to Me by Jessica Alcott
Even When You Lie to Me by Jessica Alcott Hardcover, 352 pages Published June 9th, 2015 by Crown Books for Young Readers My ratin...
SHARE:

May 10, 2017

Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein
Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein Hardcover, 327 pages Published May 3rd, 2016 My rating: 5 out of 5 stars Goodreads Amazon   When...
SHARE:
Template Created by pipdig