Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall Angelfall by Susan Ee
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Kindle Edition288 pages
Published August 28th 2012
Penryn & the End of Days Series, #1

It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

My thoughts…

Why didn't I read this book sooner?! 

This book follows the story of Penryn as she tries to rescue her sister Paige.  Penryn is a teenager who lives in a post-apocalyptic world destroyed by the angels, she struggles to survive the chaos and protect her physically disabled younger sister and mentally unstable mother.

The male lead character is Raffe, a warrior angel who Penryn finds broken and wingless on the street after a group of angels attack him and tear off his wings.  Penyrn is forced to fight the angels after her sister accidentally exposes them while hiding.  This group of angels takes Penryn's sister and flies off taking her to their nest.  Penryn needs Raffe’s help in finding the nest to rescue her sister.  They slowly develop an agreement to protect each other while they each work towards their own personal mission.

I truly enjoyed Angelfall, it was a thrilling, fast paced and action packed fantasy.  I’m happy that I finally read this and I’m eager to find out what happens next, the entire trilogy is available.

Happy Reading ~ Jovi


Post a Comment