04 August 2017

Review: Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein

Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein
Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Published June 13th, 2017
by Random House Books for Young Readers
My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life. For fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.

Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.

Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?

Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.

Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers things aren't that simple. And she meets Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.

Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

My thoughts…


I have been patiently waiting for Summer Unscripted to be released, especially since I really enjoyed Jen Klein’s Shuffle, Repeat. I had really high expectations for this book and was expecting to add it to my favorites list, wow, what a disappointment for me, with this book I had mixed feelings, I liked it but it’s not one that I would re-read or purchase for my shelves.

At the end of the school year, Rainey Langdon is inspired by a monologue delivered by the handsome Tuck Brady, it addresses what she has been feeling, not sure what she wants to accomplish with her life, while all her friends have their life already planned. Rainey discovers that Tuck will be attending a summer theater program in the mountains, and she decides she wants to attend the same program, what better way to get to know her crush.

Unfortunately, Rainey doesn't have the best track record when it comes to following up on the projects she starts, she usually quits when things get tough or she becomes bored and for that reason her parents are not on board with helping her get accepted into the summer theater program. Rainey is so determined to spend her summer with Tuck that she persuades her former best friend Ella to help her get accepted because Ella’s uncle works for the theatre and Ella attends every summer as well. 

When Rainey arrives she soon discovers that her crush Tuck has already found a new girlfriend, an actress that plays the female lead in the play. Once Rainey confronts Tuck about her feelings and why she came to the theater he tells Rainey that they can be together once the summer program is over. Right now, it is just easier to be with his current girlfriend while at the program, they share a kiss and agree it can’t go no further because of the girlfriend.

Meanwhile, Rainey becomes friends with Ella’s ex-boyfriend Milo, another actor who rather take pictures and become a photographer. Ella and Milo had a brief fling last summer, Ella seems to think that Milo cheater on her. Milo begins to have an attraction towards Rainey. Rainey isn't honest with Milo about her feelings about Tuck or honest will Ella about her feelings about Milo. Tuck eventually breaks up with his actress girlfriend and wants to start a relationship with Rainey. Drama, drama and more drama happens both on stage and off-stage. Eventually Rainey realizes who she want’s.

I have a thing about love triangles, I really don't like them and don’t like to read about them. That may be one of the reason’s I didn’t like this book as much. From the beginning, it’s obvious who Rainey is going to end with (at least for me it was), so it’s not your typical love triangle. When Milo found out that Rainey had kissed Tuck the first time he was really saddened and disappointed. His sadness didn’t stop Rainey for letting Tuck kiss her twice again, I was just so angry with her because I really liked Milo.

Ella the ex-best friend was wonderful and I didn’t care for the way Rainey treated her. Ella went out of her to get Rainey into the program and gave her a place to stay. Ella wanted to spend time with Rainey but Rainey thought it was too much and wanted to be alone, so she avoided Ella’s text messages. I especially didn’t like when Rainey’s best friends came to visit and she completely shut Ella out of the group and didn’t include her, poor Ella. 

Overall, I didn’t like Rainey or Tuck. I would have been much happier if this book was about Ella and Milo, the only two characters I did like. Chances are I would read another Jen Klein book, this one just wasn’t what I was expecting.


Happy Reading -J   

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Your comment is awaiting moderation. Have a wonderful day - Jovita