31 May 2017

Review: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
Paperback, 336 pages
Published April 5th, 2016 by Random House
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Amazon 

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart. 

My thoughts…

This was such a wonderful book, I enjoyed all the characters and everything about the story.

Tell Me Three Things is about a girl named Jessie whose mother died a couple years ago from cancer and now her father has remarried a woman he meets in a bereavement group. She didn’t know her father was dating and it came as a shock to her that he remarried. Even more so when he sold her childhood home and moved her from Chicago to California to live with her new stepmother and stepbrother.

Jessie is having the worst time of her life trying to adapt to her new private school that her stepmother is paying the tuition for her to attend, also it’s the same school as Theo, her stepbrother, attends. Theo is not happy with the new living arrangements or his mother’s marriage and he doesn’t hide his feelings from Jessie.

One day Jessie receives an email from someone named Somebody Nobody or SN. The guy, SN, is someone who goes to her school but wants to remain anonymous. At first Jessie is freaked out by this anonymous messenger and thinks it is someone trying to make fun of her or prank her. Jessie eventually realizes that she might need help just to survive at her new school. SN gives her advice on who to become friends with and to stay away from and Jessie begins to rely more and more on SN, and as time goes by adjusting to her new school gets easier.

Jessie wanted to know more about SN and finally wanted to meet him in person. She was questioning herself on how is it possible that she liked someone she has never met. Finally, SN agrees to meet Jessie to reveal his identity, at the reveal I had a huge smile and so happy. I had my suspicions early on who SN was and I was so thrilled that SN was who I thought it was. Sorry, no spoilers, you must read this wonderful book to find out.

Tell Me Three Things is sweet and funny, at times sad. It was a perfect Young Adult read. Julie Buxbaum is a new author to me and I will certainly read more of her books in the future.

But sometimes a kiss is not a kiss is not a kiss. Sometimes it's poetry.

Happy Reading -J


0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Your comment is awaiting moderation. Have a wonderful day - Jovita