10 May 2017

Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein
Hardcover, 327 pages
Published May 3rd, 2016
My rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Amazon 

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.

June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it. 

My thoughts…

I thought this book was fantastic and truly enjoyed reading it, one of my favorites of 2017.

June and Oliver have known each other since forever, birth, their mothers are best friends since meeting in college. They hadn’t really spent time together since kindergarten when they got married under the monkey bars, consummated their marriage with a kiss and a couple hours later had it annulled with an argument in art class.

June and her mother recently moved about five minutes away from Oliver and his family. He literally passes right by her house on his way to school. Since June doesn’t drive and the bus is an hour and a half long, the moms came up with the plan for Oliver to drive June. June hated feeling like she was a charity case.

“I know you have amassed a certain amount of nice-guy cred, but you don’t really have to pick me up. It’s egregious. It’s excessive.” Belatedly, I remembered that Oliver might not follow my advanced vocabulary, and I dial back so he’ll understand. “It’s too much.”

June is surprised to find out that Oliver has an advanced vocabulary himself, a jock with a vocabulary, a jockabulary.

June is bit cynical and can’t wait for senior year to end, she believes that nothing in high school matters and life doesn’t really being until college. Oliver wants to live it up and enjoy every party, tradition, and moment of his senior year. They argue and disagree on almost everything from the get-go, everything from the senior prank, ‘family sciences,’ school, music and so much more. Oliver sets out to prove her wrong and show her that high school does matter. So, begins the playlist.

“You think high school doesn’t matter. I know that it does.” Oliver pokes me lightly in the arm. “Anytime one of us can find a reason to support our side of a particular conversation-”

“Argument”

“Whatever. We get to add a song to the playlist. Then we can let it shuffle and repeat in the mornings. More wins for you means more of your screamy music on the list.”

The banter between these two if mildly hilarious and had me smiling throughout the book. I just loved Oliver’s music selection, big haired 80’s bands.

They have the perfect friendship and promise each other that they will always be honest with one another, no matter what. Their friendship doesn’t go any further at the time, Oliver has a girlfriend and June has a boyfriend. But what happens when they are no longer dating other people and someone is keeping a secret and not being honest?


Love is unpredictable. Happy Reading -J 

2 comments:

  1. Great review! Sounds like a cute YA contemporary romance read; I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. It was really fun to read, thank you for taking the time to visit.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Your comment is awaiting moderation. Have a wonderful day - Jovita